AHEC Scholars


IE AHEC Scholars is a program that enables high-potential students in the health professions to explore primary care with an emphasis on community health and interdisciplinary practice in medically underserved communities. Curriculum modules present diverse learning opportunities that include webinars, case-based learning, self guided research, and direct skills development.
The students ultimately gain a certificate in Community Health at the end of the program, along with applicable experience in community and public health.  IE AHEC has participated in the program and enrolled students since 2018.

Prospective Scholars Must Be:

Interested in primary care and community health
Motivated to address health needs in vulnerable, underserved communities
Enrolled in a health program which is at least 2-year-duration. The program must have clinical training requirements and end in a degree/certificate. To view a list of eligible health professions program click here.

To view scholars program curriculum, yearly schedule and application process click here.

Interested in the IE AHEC Sholars program? Contact us!